BEYOND

living-in-the-present-moment

Wake me routine wake me fast

I’m in the present thinking about the past

What is the moment that is called now

It’s not that I don’t want it, I just can’t see how.

Dropping it off getting lighter reducing the load

There’s never any new scenery along this same stretch of road.

Wake me routine wake me fast

I’m in the present thinking about the past.

Never going forward is the same as always looking back

Without defining the here, life is just an oval track.

Who needs paddles if we’re just meant to float,

Why think of land, when we’re living on a boat.

Wake me routine wake me fast

I’m in the present thinking about the past.

Measured moments need a size

Small medium large amounts I’ve come to realize

Grasping holding trying to wear

Millions of pieces of fabric with infinite tears.

Character: fabrications of linear assimilation

Whereas meaning hides in self deprivation.

Wake me routine wake me fast

I’m in the present thinking about the past.

The mind does what the mind knows best

Bouncing between the stress of future and past with nary a rest.

Maybe all roadmaps we follow should be lit to burn,

For a wise man once said, “in order to be free, you must unlearn.”

I want to conform into that space, where time has no shape or place

Finding the mirror that reflects only eyes, no face.

Everything fades, no everywhere here or there,

Only thing left: breathing, floating, aware.

Go away routine

I knew we’d never last

I’m finally in the present,

I’ve left behind the past.

